top of page

Anal 101

I love anal. When I first tried it, I thought it was just one of those things that you just put up with because your partner wants to try it. Then I realised I was about to have an orgasm. As you can imagine, I really enjoyed it, and since then I have become much more aware of the do's and don'ts, hence why I am writing this article. Disclaimer: a lot of what I am about to say comes from a place of experience, not necessarily medically appropriate.


- The day before, do not eat anything that is likely to upset your tummy. I'm talking dairy or spice or super greasy foods. Basically (and without trying to be too crude) you need to be able to empty yourself properly on the day, and if things are a little loose, you'll more than likely feel very uncomfortable and potentially a little insecure.


- On the day, go for a poo. Where possible, try and make sure you do this about 4 hours before. If I'm honest, this is one of the most essential parts of prep. The thing with anal is that if there is anything inside you, the actual act of being thrusted into in that area will mean that if there is anything inside, it's going to come out whether you like it or not. It's not an ideal situation to get into.


- I try to eat the bare minimum on the day as well. I'm talking about a couple of pieces of toast so that I'm not starving kind of thing. When you get a bit nearer the time of the act, feel free to eat a little more as this won't have time to process and get through your system.


- Lots of people recommend enemas. I personally don't do that. Last time I tried to do one, it went horrifically and I had water up my ass for about a day. If you're comfortable with them, great. If not, you will be fine without. I've never had any complaints.


- Shaving your ass can be a bit tricky. This is definitely optional. Your body, your choice.


- Shower beforehand. This is the best time to get comfortable with inserting a finger into yourself. Feeling clean will help you be more comfortable.



- Lube is your best friend. However much you think you need, you will need more. The less friction, the better.


- Stretching is your other best friend. Anal tears hurt. I suffered one, and I thought I was going to be sick. They are not fun, so we'll try and avoid them. Start with a finger, then try moving up with toys. It does not hurt to invest in an anal dilator set as well if it's something that you are going to engage in regularly. Also, if there is any "residue" in your ass, it will go on the toys first.


- Anal may feel uncomfortable, but it should never hurt. If you are in pain, stop, relax, take a deep breath and try again if you are comfortable doing so.


- I have to prepare myself in my head, otherwise I get a bit twitchy. I will sit there and say "it is okay for this to go up my ass" in my head the whole time.


- Those with vulvas may enjoy having a little clitoral stimulation to help them relax. There is a certain point when stretching in which if you touch my clit, I'll cum there and then. This is a very personal thing, but something to be aware of.


- If you going to make this into a penetrative sex act, spooning is the most comfortable position. If you are the receiver, your comfort is priority over what looks sexiest.


- I have my most powerful orgasms from anal. This is also the only sex act I squirt during. Some will cum from it, some won't. Again, it's a very personal thing.


- As with all sex acts, barrier protection is advised. Condoms are your friend.


- If your partner ejaculates inside you, it is going to feel weird when you get up. You'll want to get rid of this in a bathroom.


- You may feel really relaxed the next day. It's on of those things.


- Numbing cream is not recommended. At all.


I want to take a moment to remind you that most of this is based off my personal experience, so I will not be taking any liability. With that said, I am definitely a bit of an anal slut, and do know what I am on about (for the most part anyway!)

Recent Posts

See All

My experience with endometriosis

March is Endometriosis Awareness Month, so I thought I would talk about my experiences of it. Endometriosis is when the uterine lining grows outside of the uterus, around the uterus, ovaries, stomach

A wrong way to send THAT text

It is estimated that 8 in 10 people will get HPV in their lives. With that in mind, let me tell you a little story. A little while back, I had been seeing a guy who seemed really into me. We talked a

bottom of page