top of page

A letter to Kesha

Dear Kesha,


I was recently making a female empowerment playlist and I clicked onto your Spotify page, and it got me thinking about your case against Dr Luke, so I did some research to find out what the outcome of it all was.


It broke my heart to read that you'd been told to drop all charges.


I was 14 at the time of your case coming out. I remember the tweets and the posts and the outrage felt by so many that at the very least, you wanted to be out of a contract with him. You just wanted to be safe. It was the bare minimum to ask not to have to work with that man, and the courts weren't willing to grant that to you. They failed you, and you paid the price. The photos of you in the courtroom bring me to tears every time I think of them. You deserved so much better, and there is nothing I wouldn't give to be able to change the outcome. It is devastating to think that he used his position of power to do what he did.


It is infuriating that he tried to counter-sue you for defamation of character. How fucking dare he. Not only did you have to deal with the emotional stress and trauma of the first case, but for this man to try to make you feel bad about coming forward and trying to take legal action against you as a result? Disgusting. And for the music industry to just keep quiet on the matter as the #metoo movement came about is a clear representation on whose side they were on. It should have been yours. They should have protected and listened and supported you. It was also a pisstake for Ed Sheeran to win best pop solo performance - with both "Praying" and Lady Gaga's "Million Reasons" int that category there was perfect opportunity to show solidarity in powerful performances and music, but instead, they picked a song that has as much meaning to it as an Ikea spoon. Your performance at the 2018 Grammys was incredible and hit home with so many people. Your song has become an anthem for so many survivors. We all stand by you for it.


I wish there is something I could do to help. I wish I could hold your hand and be there to tell you that you did the right thing. I wish you didn't have to go through this all in the public eye. Most of all I wish you a strong recovery. As an artist and as a person. You may have moved on from what happened, but the world will not forget what a monster he is. We shall never forgive him. Your story is started my fire to get into the work I do today, to help and protect women with stories like yours. To hear it once is to hear it too many times. I hope you are in a better place now, and I hope that things only go up for you. You are wonderful, strong, powerful, and above all else, you have been heard.


Kind regards


Hannah Davies

Recent Posts

See All

Dating struggles as a strong bisexual woman

Quarantine has given me a lot of time to reflect on my dating life. I have been single for 3 and a half years, so as you can imagine, I've hit a few bumps in the road. Let's start by establishing one

Why I am sick of being called brave

Earlier today I had a counselling session. It had gone really well and I was quite proud of myself. But then at the end, my counsellor said something that any person who is open about their trauma wil

bottom of page